SZA, Tracee Ellis Ross, Rihanna and more named winners at 27th annual Webbys

Sonja Flemming/CBS

A slew of celebrities have been named winners at the 27th annual Webby Awards, taking place next month in New York City. Among those receiving honors are Special Achievement winners SZA, Tracee Ellis Ross and Tobe Nwigwe.

SZA will be honored as this year’s Webby Artist of the Year for her chart-breaking sophomore album, SOS. She’s lauded for “the true intention and consideration she injects into her work, and for her ingenious use of the internet to share unique, brilliantly honest art.”

Tracee will receive the Webby Special Achievement Award for sharing “multidimensional stories of belonging,” her work to increase Black representation in the beauty industry and being a “constant, positive force.”

Tobe will also be rewarded with the Special Achievement Award, but for his use of the internet to “create art that is imaginative and poignant.”

The Webby Awards generally honor excellence on the internet, making companies, content, campaigns and pop culture phenomena eligible for wins, as well.

Rihanna‘s Savage x Fenty Vol. 4, for example, won the Webby People’s Voice Award for Fashion, Beauty & Lifestyle, Branded Entertainment (Video). LIZZOS BIG GIRLS | Womxn’s History Month | Animated Social Video secured the win for Arts & Entertainment, Social Video (Social), and Black Panther: Wakanda Forever grabbed the Webby Award for TV, Film & Entertainment, Social Content Series (Social).

Trevor NoahDoja Cat, Barack Obama and Serena Williams also picked up some awards.

The 27th annual Webbys, hosted by Roy Woods Jr., will go down at Cipriani Wall Street on May 15. Fans can watch special moments on @TheWebbyAwards socials, particurlarly YouTube, Instagram and TikTok

Copyright © 2023, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.